Showing posts with label Movies. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Movies. Show all posts

Tuesday, January 18, 2011

Movie buff: mini review of TRON Legacy

 

   Last Saturday, the BF and I watched TRON at the IMAX theater. Based on reviews, the only thing that made the movie interesting and cool is the visual effects. BF said, to fully understand the movie you’d have to watch the first movie which was shown in the 80’s, well I didn’t but I was game (since he was the one who paid for the tickets, hehe).

     For those who haven’t watched here’s a short description on what the movie is about:

The son of a virtual world designer goes looking for his father and ends up inside the digital world that his father designed. He meets his father's creation turned bad and a unique ally who was born inside the digital domain of The Grid.

Tron-Legacy-official-theatrical-poster-tron-legacy-16385238-486-720

What Kitty says:   

There were some parts that totally got me bored and slept for maybe 5mins. Story wise, I’d have to agree, this movie, to fully grasp what the story is about, you’d have to watch the first movie, why? because I didn’t understand almost 80% of the film. The ending was the worst, and I was like: O___O yes that’s how I looked like. I couldn’t say anything more, sorry to TRON fans, but hey, watching it in full 3D was so worth it, the effects were super cool and I wanted my own light cycle too. Effects looks so real that I reacted to some parts as if it would hit me. Acting wise? well, no comment there

  Normally, we wouldn’t watch a movie in IMAX (because we find it too expensive for just a movie), so that was both our first time to watch. You also get to have free popcorn, just add 10 if you want BBQ flavor, 20 for cheese.

168424_1691275134510_1616721377_1590095_1406408_n                                                   souvenir photo

 

    That’s about it! How about you guys? do you always watch movies on IMAX?

 

   Till then!

 

  Meow..Meow..

Friday, June 18, 2010

Karate Kid

 

  I wanted to make separate blog about the movie Karate Kid and this is my first attempt in making a movie review, it deserves one as well, it was too good than expected.

karatekid2010 Well of course, the first time I saw the trailer I was so-so about this movie and was even hesitant with Jaden Smith, but after it showed,  it received good reviews and comments, even my nephew enjoyed it and he’s just 7 years old!

  It couldn’t be helped, it has to be compared with the old movie, which I watched as a kid and never enjoyed it. This is the one I’m talking about

images  It has almost a different plot though, as the new Karate Kid portrayed by Jaden Smith has a “deeper” dilemma, he lives in China and feels like an outcast and bullied by a Chinese boy who turns out to practice Karate as a sport. And Jackie Chan a maintenance guy who knows the art and there’s a story behind him. Not just him, being a master and teaching. I’m not bad mouthing the old movie okay, I’m just a sucker for good stories really.

  For Jackie Chan, this wasn’t his usual role that he portrays and it just proves that he is a very flexible actor. He did very well (in my opinion) with his acting and of course at his age man, he can still do karate! haayaaah! lol. And for Jaden Smith this will definitely open doors for him. Upon filming this movie, his dad and mom Will and Jada we’re part of the producers and man, Jaden so looks like his dad. A complete carbon copy, even the facial expressions. I still have a hang over this movie and deserves a 2nd watching. All I can say is that I love this movie a lot, deserves in my list of favorite movies.

My verdict: 4/5 popcorns

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...